Well, this question no longer surprises us, as we have seen many controversies surrounding the social media giant Facebook. That being said, there are many reasons to delete a Facebook account. Or for personal interest in online privacy or simply because you want to save time by eliminating yourself. Therefore, we are here with some simple methods to delete your Facebook account.
How to deactivate or delete the Facebook account?
If you are thinking of leaving Facebook, you are not alone. The growing concerns about social networks that affect health are making people willing to leave the platform. Social networking sites like Facebook are not only good for mental health, they also hinder long-term productivity. Other possible reasons for leaving Facebook are trust and privacy problems. Having said that, in this article, we will guide you to delete or deactivate your Facebook account. But before we start, we need to know the difference between deleting and deactivating a Facebook account.
Also Read: How To Fix Google Play Store Download Pending Issue
Deleting vs. Deactivating Facebook account
Deleting your Facebook account and deactivating it are two different things. By deactivating the account, you can hide your online presence on Facebook. While the removal will completely remove it from the platform.
In fact, Facebook is not just a collection of images and status updates; It is much more than that! All your contacts, connections, apps and related games. Therefore, you need to be clear about the decision you want to make. We advise you to deactivate your account first and check if you have lost something important. What happens if you lose access to an app that uses Facebook as an authentication service? Therefore, it is always good to be cautious.
What happens after deactivating your FB account?
- You can reactivate your account when you want to return.
- People won’t be able to see your history or look for you on Facebook.
- Some information, such as messages sent, may remain visible to others.
What happens when you delete your FB account?
- You will not be able to log in again once the deletion is complete. 30 days are required for completion.
- It may take up to 90 days to completely delete the data stored on the backup systems. However, your information will not be accessible on Facebook during this period.
- Your friends may still have access to the messages you sent after your account was deleted.
- Copies of specific material, such as records, may remain in the FB database but are dissociated from personal identifiers, as indicated by the company.
- Your friends can still see your name on your friend’s list. It is visible only to your friends and only from the list of your friends.
- However, group administrators can view your posts and comments, including your name.
- Should you decide to keep Messenger active or sign in to Messenger when you deactivate your FB account, Messenger will remain active. You can disable it later separately.
Please note that Facebook will delay the removal process 30 days after your request. The removal request will be automatically canceled if you log in to your FB account again before the deadline.
Deactivate a Facebook account
Now that you know what deactivation does, here are the steps to deactivate your FB account:
- First, click on the link https://www.facebook.com/deactivate/ to navigate directly to the deactivation page. Or You can also access the page by tapping the triangle drop-down menu in the upper right corner. Next, you need to select “Settings” and choose “General” in the sidebar. Now, click on “Manage your account” and after that click, the option “Deactivate your account”.
- Once you have completed the previous steps, you will be asked to re-enter the password for security reasons. Follow the instructions and follow the steps to confirm your decision.
- In case you plan to cancel your choice, you can reactivate your account by simply logging in with e-mail and password. Your profile will be completely restored.
Also Read: How To Shake Device To Turn On Flashlight On Android [Without Root]
Delete a Facebook account
Before saying goodbye to Facebook, it may be worth downloading data. To do the same, go to the account settings as described in the previous steps. After that, tap on the option “Your Facebook Information” and tap on “Download Your Information”. Select the things you want in your file and continue with creating and downloading the file. We also recommend that you disconnect all apps and services from your account.
Now that you’ve done this, follow these steps to permanently delete your FB account:
- Click the triangle drop-down menu in the upper right corner of the Facebook website and select
- Select the option “Your Facebook information” in the left sidebar. Now tap on the option “Delete Your Account And Information”. By continuing, you will be asked to download the data. Do it if you have not already done so and press “Delete account”.
If you change your mind within 30 days of the account removal request, you can log in again with the email ID and password to revert the process. Or, all your data will be permanently deleted from the platform and you will not be able to access it later.