How to Deactivate Messenger – Facebook Messenger

You can deactivate, and even delete Facebook if you are tired of the social network and if you find it far from a healthy impact on your mental health. Deactivating and deleting Facebook is pretty simple but the same can’t be said if you want to deactivate Facebook Messenger. In this article, we are going to talk about How to Deactivate Messenger – Facebook Messenger. Let’s begin!

Facebook Messenger continues to work even if you have deactivated your Facebook account. This is, in part, because Facebook Messenger exists as a service and application outside of Facebook. In fact, you can use your phone number rather than your Facebook account to use Messenger.

Deactivate Facebook Messenger

If you use Facebook Messenger with your Facebook account, you must first deactivate your Facebook account before you can deactivate Facebook Messenger. If you want to get rid of Facebook Messenger without deactivating Facebook, your only option is to turn to chat off. Additionally, you can only deactivate Facebook Messenger from one of its smartphone applications. The web interface does not have a deactivate option.

Open Facebook Messenger on your iPhone or Android phone. Click on your profile picture at the top to go to your settings. Scroll down and tap Legal & Policies.

On the Legal & Policies screen, you will see a Deactivate Messenger option. Tap it and enter your password. Once you are past the verification screen. Tap the Deactivate button.

This will effectively deactivate Facebook Messenger. It will not, however, delete or hide any conversations you have had. Other people, with whom you have conversation threads, will still be able to read the chat history.

Further | deactivate messenger

If you ever want to start using Facebook Messenger again, all you have to do is log back in, and you are good to go. There does not seem to be a way to delete your Facebook Messenger account other than just deleting the app from it. If your Facebook Messenger account is tied to your Facebook account, then deleting your Facebook account is what it takes to delete Facebook Messenger.

There does not seem to be any way to dispose of your Facebook Messenger account such that all your conversation history goes with it. If you delete your Facebook account, it is possible that the chat thread will no longer show your name and profile picture. But if you use a phone number for the messaging service, you might not have any way to erase all traces of your account.

If you are trying to avoid someone on Facebook Messenger. You can try blocking them, or turning off your active status and read receipts.

Conclusion

Alright, That was all Folks! I hope you like this deactivate messenger article and find it helpful to you. Give us your feedback on it. Also if you guys have further queries related to this article. Then let us know in the comments section below. We will get back to you shortly.

Have a Great Day!

Also See: How to Fix OBS Black Screen while Recording on Windows 10

Leave a Reply