How to Turn Off Video Paused Continue Watching on YouTube

Videos are meant to be watched which means if you are watching YouTube, the website expects that you have not sent it to the background. That is not how everyone watches YouTube. In this article, we are going to talk about  How to Turn Off Video Paused Continue Watching on YouTube. Let’s begin!

The website lets you create a playlists and if they are music playlists that you are listening to. The tab does not really have to be in the front. You can send it to the back or also minimize the window that it is open in. YouTube can’t tell if it is in the background or not but it can tell if you have not interacted with the site in a while. And that is when it will pause the video that is playing. You will see a ‘Video paused. Continue watching’ prompt. You have to click Yes in order to continue watching.

To disable the ‘Video paused. Continue watching’ prompt, you have to use an extension called YouTube NonStop. This is a Chrome extension so this solution only applies to Chrome, and also to the Development beta of Edge, if you are running it.

Download and Install YouTube NonStop from the Chrome Web Store and it will take care of the rest. You can leave YouTube running in the background and the extension won’t stop the video from playing when you have not interacted with the website for a long time.

Video Paused Continue Watching

YouTube added this prompt about two years ago. It was sporadic back then and not all users saw it. It seems to only appear if you are signed in to YouTube and have been ‘watching’ for too long.

The feature is meant to save data, and perhaps even battery if you are watching on a laptop that is not plugged in. If the video keeps playing, it will consume more data, especially if you have autoplay enabled. At the same time, the battery will deplete much faster because you are playing media in a resource-hungry browser. The prompt is not without purpose but there should be an option to turn the Video Paused Continue Watching off.

The extension is passive, you can also hide it in the overflow menu or the extensions’ menu. You can’t toggle it On or Off. You can disable it if you want the feature back (or uninstall it) but there is no off button. If you prefer Firefox over Chrome, there does not seem to be an add-on for it that can get rid of this feature. We mentioned that the prompt does not appear when you watch without signing in. If you can watch without signing in, you may not see the prompt. Of course, this means no watch history and you lose access to your playlists and channel subscriptions.

Conclusion

Alright, That was all Folks! I hope you like this video paused continue watching youtube, article and find it helpful to you. Give us your feedback on it. Also if you guys have further queries related to this article. Then let us know in the comments section below. We will get back to you shortly.

Have a Great Day!

Also See: How to Fix Galaxy S8 Caller ID not Working

Leave a Reply