We all know the embarrassment caused whenever we send someone a message that should not have been sent. The reason can actually be anything, grammatical mistake, some awkward typing errors, as well as accidentally pressing the send button. Fortunately, WhatsApp also introduced a feature of deleting the sent message for both sides, i.e., the sender and the receiver. However, what about Facebook Messenger? Not many folks know that Messenger too offers the feature to delete a message for both sides. In this article, we are going to talk about How to Permanently Delete Facebook Messages from Both Sides. Let’s begin!
We all know this feature as “Delete for Everyone”. It doesn’t even matter if you are an Android or an iOS user. The Delete for Everyone feature is also available on both. Now, you do not have to worry about all the regret and embarrassment, as we will save you.
How to Permanently Delete Facebook Messages from Both Sides
Just like WhatsApp’s Delete for Everyone feature, Facebook Messenger also offers its users the feature to delete messages for both sides, i.e., the “Remove for Everyone” feature. Initially, this feature was only available at some particular locations, however, now it can be used almost anywhere around the world. One thing to note here is – You can only delete a message from both sides within 10 minutes of sending the message as well. When you have crossed the 10 minutes window, then you can’t delete a message on Messenger.
Follow the steps given below to instantly delete the message you sent via mistake for both sides.
- First of all, just launch the Messenger app from Facebook on your Android or iOS device.
- Then open the chat from which you guys want to delete the message for both sides.
- Now, click and hold the message which you guys want to delete. Now click remove and you will see two options pop up on your screen as well.
- Click on ‘Unsend’ if you want to delete the selected message for both sides, else to delete the message from your end only, click on the ‘Remove for You’ option.
- Then, tap on Remove to confirm your decision. That’s just it. Your message will be deleted for both sides as well.
Note: The participant(s) of the chat will also know that you have deleted a message. When you have deleted a message, then it will be replaced by the “You unsent a message” card.
if this method didn’t actually work then try an alternative to Permanently Delete Facebook Messenger Messages from Both Sides.
Alternative: Permanently delete a message from both sides on PC
In case you guys want to delete a message from both sides and you are past the 10 minutes window. Then you can still try steps in this method as well. We also have a trick that might actually help you. Just follow the given steps and give it a try.
Note: We strongly recommend not to use this method since this might create problems for your Facebook account and other participants of the chat. Also, do not select options such as harassment or bullying from the given options unless that is the case.
- First of all, open Facebook and head to the chat from where you want to delete the message.
- Now just look at the right panel and tap on the ‘Something’s Wrong’ option.
- You will now see a pop-up that will also ask if the conversation is spam or harassment, or anything else. You guys can mark the conversation as spam or inappropriate.
- Now Deactivate your Facebook account and then log in again after a few hours. Also, see if the method worked.
Deactivating your account might also exempt the other user from viewing your message as well.
Can blocking someone Delete messages from both sides?
This might also come to your mind that blocking someone deletes messages and restrains people from viewing your messages. But unfortunately, this won’t delete already sent messages. When you guys block someone, then they can view messages you have sent but can’t reply.
Is it possible to report deleted abusive messages on Facebook?
You guys can always report an abusive message on Facebook even if it is deleted. Facebook actually keeps a copy of deleted messages in its database. So, you can select the “Harassment” as well as “Abusive” option from the Something’s Wrong button and then send feedback stating the issue. Here is how you guys can do it –
- First of all, head to the chat that you want to report. On the bottom right, look for the ‘Something’s Wrong’ button. Tap on it.
- A new window will then pop up on your screen. Select ‘Harassment’ or ‘abusive’ from the given options, or whichever you feel is right.
- Now just tap on the Send Feedback button.
Why is there only a 10-minute window to delete messages?
As we also have mentioned earlier in this article, Facebook only permits you to delete a message from both sides within 10 minutes of sending the message. You guys can’t delete the message after 10 minutes of sending it.
However, why is there a limit of only 10 minutes? Facebook now has decided on such a small window because of the rapid increase in the cases of cyberbullying. This small window of 10 minutes restrains the deletion of messages along with the hope to exempt people from erasing some potential evidence.
Alright, That was all Folks! I hope you guys like this article and also find it helpful to you. Give us your feedback on it. Also if you guys have further queries and issues related to this article. Then let us know in the comments section below. We will get back to you shortly.
Have a Great Day!