What can I do if I Deleted a Photo by Mistake from my iPhone or iPad?

0
251

Billions of photographs are taken every year around the world, most of them using smartphones, and surely you are also one of those who add snapshots to that account.

The cameras of the smartphones have evolved a lot in recent years and today you can get images with very good quality with a device that we always carry in your pocket such as the iPhone.

What can I do if I Deleted a Photo by Mistake from my iPhone or iPad?

No doubt this is a great thing, but at the same time it seems that we give less importance to the photos we take. How many times have you seen photos of years ago? It is very likely that very rarely or even that you have never done so.

In addition, managing so many photos can be complicated and deleting some by mistake is quite common. Luckily Apple has thought about this and the current iPhone is possible to recover a photo or video deleted by mistake.

iOS has a function to recover deleted photos in the last 30 days

Would you like to know how to access this feature and recover lost photos and videos? You just have to follow these steps:

  1. Open the Photos app and tap on the Albums tab.
  2. Scroll and tap on the Deleted album.
  3. Open the photo or video you need to recover and tap on the Recover button in the lower right corner of the screen.
  4. Confirm the recovery by tapping on Recover photo in the drop-down menu that appears on the screen.

And that’s all. Once these steps have been taken, the photo or video will be available again on the reel of your iPhone or iPad and you will be able to access it normally, just as you do with photos that have never been deleted from the device.

It is important to mention that the iPhone only saves deleted photos for 30 days. After this period the photos are deleted from the album Deleted and deleted completely from the device’s memory, although there are still alternatives to recover them as you will see in the next section.

What if the 30 days have passed?

If it has been more than 30 days since the photo or video has been deleted by mistake, everything is not lost. Still, today options with which you could get to recover the files, especially if during that time you have not occupied much space in the memory of the device or if you have always had a lot of free GB.

When you delete a file, it is not completely deleted from memory. Due to the mode of operation of storage systems, deleted files are marked as such, but do not disappear from memory until a new file needs the space they occupied.

What can I do if I Deleted a Photo by Mistake from my iPhone or iPad?

Thanks to this it is possible to recover files with specialized software and in the case of the iPhone, there are many options with which you can try it like Tenorshare UltData, PhoneRescue of iMobie or the data recovery module of Dr.Fone.

With any of these tools, the recovery process is very similar. You will only have to connect the device to a computer with macOS or Windows, run the application and follow the on-screen instructions to start an analysis of the data you can recover. Once the analysis is finished, it will show you the list with all the photos and videos that you can bring back and you will only have to select them so that in a matter of seconds you will pass them directly to the computer.

They are easy to use tools (you will not need to understand the codes of the black screen that accompanies these lines) and that can be useful in many cases, so do not hesitate to give up problems before giving up lost memories that you would surely like to keep in time.

How to make photos take up less space on iPhone

It is very common to delete photos or videos by mistake when the iPhone space is running out and you need more to update an app, install a new one or just take new photos.

If you see yourself very often in this situation there is a way to recover space without deleting files. You can continue to have all your photos and videos on the reel of the iPhone or iPad and make them take up very little space. Sounds interesting don’t you think?

To achieve this you must activate the Photos function in iCloud (from Settings – Photos) and choose the Optimize storage option.

What can I do if I Deleted a Photo by Mistake from my iPhone or iPad?

By doing this the iOS device will upload all the photos to the Apple cloud in its original quality and in the internal memory it will only keep local copies that will look equally good on the screen of the device, but that will occupy much less in memory.

Apple offers 5 GB for free on iCloud accounts, so you may have to increase this ability to save all your photos. The prices are very reasonable, starting at less than € 1 per month for 50 GB or € 2.99 for 200 GB which can also be shared between several iCloud accounts through the Family function (there are options with capacities up to 2 TB, but for most cases, the above are more than enough).

Taking into account that your photos and videos will practically stop taking up space on your device and that they will be safe even if you lose your phone or steal it, I think it is an option to keep in mind so you don’t have to be constantly deleting photos and running the risk of deleting a photo by mistake.

Also See:How To Get Back your Password Protected Notes

Leave a Reply