Do you think it’s time to delete your WhatsApp account forever? Whatever the reason you have made this decision, in this guide we want to explain the steps you must take to delete your messaging service account and what will happen to your presence when doing so.
Excess information, too many distractions, change of phone number, change to another messaging service … The reasons can be many and very different, but luckily deleting the account is quite simple as you can see in the following lines.
What happens when you delete your WhatsApp account?
The first thing you should know before deleting your WhatsApp account is what will happen when doing it. Basically, it would be summarized in:
- Your phone number will no longer be associated with a WhatsApp account.
- You will no longer appear in the contact list of people who have your phone number stored on your smartphone.
- Your account will be removed from your friends WhatsApp favorites list.
- Your conversations and attachments will be deleted from your iPhone or Android, recovering a lot of storage space.
- You will be eliminated from all the groups you were in.
You can always reopen your account in the messaging service, but unless you make a backup of your data before, you will lose everything you have and you will have to start over from scratch.
How to delete a WhatsApp account from iPhone
The process to delete a WhatsApp account from iPhone is very simple. The steps you must take are the following:
- Open WhatsApp on your iPhone and tap on the Settings icon.
- Tap Account and then Delete my account.
- Enter your phone number and touch Delete my account.
Once these steps are taken, your account will be eliminated from the service and everything explained in the previous section will happen. Once the account is deleted you can uninstall the WhatsApp app on your device.
How to reactivate a deleted WhatsApp account
As I said, whenever you want you can re-use the messaging service by reinstalling the app and reactivating your account.
For this, you will not have to create your account again as if it were the first time. The steps you must take are these:
- Download the WhatsApp app from the App Store.
- Run the app and enter your phone number when asked.
- Confirm the account by entering the PIN you have received through SMS.
As you can see, reactivating your WhatsApp account is very simple. By making them all the users of the service that have your phone number saved in your phonebook will see you and you can start sending messages, add groups, etc, etc … Also, if you want you can restore the backup you made before deleting your account of WhatsApp and thus recover the conversations, photos, videos and other attachments that you had.