How to Prevent WhatsApp Photos from Being Automatically Saved on iPhone

Are you tired of all the photos and videos that you receive by WhatsApp being automatically saved on the reel of your iPhone? Normal! Surely you are in a lot of groups where they do not stop running the memes, funny videos, absurd photos and other usual fauna of the Internet.

With the default configuration of WhatsApp, all these contents end up on the reel of your iPhone making you lose time when you want to see your own photos or videos (in addition to occupying storage space).

Luckily it is easy to modify this behavior and in the following lines, I will explain how to do it.

How to Prevent WhatsApp Photos from Being Automatically Saved on iPhone

Configure WhatsApp so you do not save the photos and videos you receive

If you want to avoid that all the videos and photos that you receive in WhatsApp are saved in the reel of your iPhone you must do this:

  1. Open WhatsApp and tap on the Settings icon in the lower right corner of the screen.
  2. Tap on the Chats option.
  3. Turn off the Save option switch on the reel.

Fact! With these three simple steps, your iPhone will stop saving in the Photos app all the photo and video files that you receive through WhatsApp.

Once this change is made you should be aware that if you delete a conversation completely all the files stored in it will disappear completely. It is a good way to recover storage space occupied by WhatsApp, but you must take it into account to not delete files by mistake or ignorance.

The same thing happens if you uninstall the app from your device, all the videos and photos will be lost forever (unless you have a WhatsApp backup).

How to save WhatsApp photos or videos on the iPhone

Now that the photos and videos are no longer saved automatically, you may want to know how to do it manually for those cases where you are interested in keeping the files.

To save the photos and videos you want, you should do the following:

  1. Open the photo or video you want to save in the conversation or open a conversation, touch the name of the contact or group and then select the option Files, links and docs. to see all the files exchanged in that conversation.
  2. Touch the share icon in the lower left corner of the screen (the icon has a rectangle shape with an arrow pointing up).
  3. Select the Save option.

As you can see the process to save the files manually is quite simple and after doing it a couple of times you will have no problem repeating it whenever you do not need it.

I hope that this small tip helps you to manage a little better the storage space of your iPhone and also to get rid of a lot of photos and videos that do not paint anything on your reel.

Also See:How to Unlock an iPhone Without Knowing the Password

Leave a Reply